Initial musings

To me, “new journalism” is what is happening now in this murky, churning evolutionary soup that is the news/information business. It’s a frustrating time for journalists. But it’s also an exhilarating time, full of opportunities and experimentation. I have to admit that at first I was among those who bemoaned the digital changes and waxed nostalgic for the “good old days” of print journalism.  But I’ve come around.

One of the many epiphanies I’ve had these past few years occurred in April 2009 at a workshop that I attended with UNL’s three News21 fellows. The presentations were amazing, so I’m sharing them here:   

What I came away with from this workshop was this: The plethora of digital tools make storytelling much richer and engaging — so why not embrace them? 

The bigger questions still loom. The Internet continues to increase the number of new places where stories can be told while wreaking havoc with the old business models. How this all shakes out is a mystery; the history is being written as we speak.

Leave a Reply

